On theory

I have been meaning to update this blog for a while but it hasn’t happened. It’s not that I don’t have anything to say. I do. I have loads. But every time I go to write I hesitate. I wonder why? I am pretty free with broadcasting my public learning. So why now?

I reckon it’s because I have had a conversion experience. What I want to write about has clicked quite dramatically into place. I have become caught in the net of a theory.

Theory is fun.  It can be used as a tool and played with. It can be talked about with dramatic body language and capital letters. Theory is also serious. Despite the kick many get out of discussing theory, or alternatively rejecting it as BS, becoming self-aware of how theory works for a qualitative researcher is so important. It is what shapes our decision making: why we want to solve certain problems; how we want to go about solving them.

The thing about theory is that it is profoundly personal. It should be profoundly personal because then the decision making process in research aligns with your personal value system. It is a process to make sure that the way you conduct research means you can sleep at night.

I don’t really want to write about it yet. I’m not procrastinating, I’m relishing. It’s still new and fresh. I want to keep it to myself for a bit. Hold it close. Roll it around for a bit smoothing some edges, sharpening others. I’m not ready for you to argue with me, or even agree. As I said, it’s deeply personal at the moment and that stuff really doesn’t belong on social media for me.

But soon.

 

One thought on “On theory

Leave a Reply

