Transparency of intention

“I am anchored on a resolve you cannot shake. My heart, my conscience shall dispose of my hand — they only. Know this at last.”
Charlotte Brontë, Shirley

Renoir: Bal du moulin de la Galette, 1876

Renoir: Bal du moulin de la Galette, 1876

This is my blog about courting academia. I will write about my experiences, the decisions I make and why I make them, my successes and failures. I write this blog six months into my three year plan. I woo slowly. I don’t move quickly. I’m not a flashy brilliant theorist. I’m the one that you make friends with, is loyal, and hardworking. I’m that friend that one day you turn around and realise you want me.

This is my Early Career Researcher blog. The sequel to The Pregnant PhD. I’ve come of age, now to find a suitable partner.  Need to get me some civil union action.

To be honest, I have never really been a career monogamist. I’ve had a *portfolio career*. I’ve always moved around between jobs, happy for short and long term contracts. I tend to get a bit suffocated any time I’ve had any long term appointment and usually move on after 3-5 years. I wonder if this is because I was only dating my career. I was always on the lookout for something better. I was never 100% happy.

Now I feel a bit more convinced. Well, I have been in love with the Academy since I fell in lust with my sociology lecturer in my undergrad. He wore leather and rode a motorbike (a great reason to fall in love when you are 19). I explored alternative careers, thinking they might be my aim (without them I couldn’t be where I am today).

When I started my PhD, I got cold feet because sometimes the knocks were big.

But!

Today I am standing up and have purpose in mind.

By 2018 you are going to get laid, Academy. I think we could have a beautiful relationship.

Leave a Reply

