The post-doc interview — some useful feedback

Dot-to-Dot

woman-214785_640

I recently had a skype interview with Monash University’s Learning with New Media Research Group for a post-doctoral fellowship. I was completely surprised by the request for an interview as I thought I was nowhere near qualified for the position on offer. They wanted an ethnographer and I’m a phenomenographer. They needed someone with NVivo experience I still use post-it notes and Excel.

I applied for the position simply for the experience, the understanding that you need to be in it to win it, and an embarrassingly gushy PhD-crush on several members of the interview panel. Professor Neil Selwyn’s work helped me formulate the social media component of my method and conceptual framework, and Dr Nicola Johnson (and other’s) work guided my consideration of some tricky ethical issues.

Needless to say, I didn’t get the job but I got some great feedback. I thought I would use this blog…

View original post 604 more words

Leave a Reply

